Add Listing Sign In
past event


American rhythms

Dvořák wrote his American string quartet when visiting the Czech-speaking colony of Spillville, Iowa, in 1893, finding there a balance between Old and New Worlds, and a way to express his love of Czech and American folk music in classical forms. The quartet has a poise and balance, with each member of the ensemble given time in the spotlight.

A world away from Spillville, the hustle of New York City was captured by Leonard Bernstein in West Side Story. In this arrangement for brass quintet, experience the bold and energising sounds of that beloved musical; it’s the perfect accompaniment for Fire Dance by Emmy Award-winning composer, Anthony DiLorenzo, a three-and-a-half-minute stunner that will leave you breathless.

Presented by Sydney Symphony Orchestra


DVOŘÁK String Quartet No.12, American
BERNSTEIN arr. Gale West Side Story: Suite
TRAD. arr. L Henderson Amazing Grace

Artist information

Musicians of the Sydney Symphony Orchestra

Event Dates