Add Listing Sign In


Schubert’s stirring Death and the Maiden leads this monumental performance with works by Arvo Pärt, Graham Koehne and a world premiere by ARIA award-winning composer Brenda Gifford.

The restless flow of time and memory

The lifeblood of memory, music is the empowering tool through which composers pass on stories and honour the continuous flow of time. Franz Schubert’s stirring Death and the Maiden has long captured the imagination of audiences and mirrors the composer’s own inner turmoil with its thrilling climaxes, tortured freneticism, and darkly romantic source materials.


With the fragility of life at their centres, Arvo Pärt’s plaintive Mozart-Adagio and Graham Koehne’s Time is a River, both dedicated to loved ones passed, represent hopefulness and reinforce an inspiring message of life’s raw beauty and the innate power of music to heal. This reflective program also includes the world premiere of a moving work by ARIA

award-winning composer and proud Yuin woman Brenda Gifford.


Arvo Pärt Mozart-Adagio
Brenda Gifford New Commission [World Premiere]
Franz Schubert String Quartet in D minor,  D.810, ‘Death and the Maiden’
Graeme Koehne Time is a River
Presented by Omega Ensemble

Event Dates